DIY – Front Entrance Table

30 Aug

As you may have noticed from some of the pictures – I like my house to be as organized and uncluttered as possible.  Since we did not have a table at the front entrance, hubby had a habit of dumping his pockets (wallet, iPhone, keys, work badge, etc) on the kitchen island as he walked in.  After a few months of this I knew I needed to get a table for the front entrance that could house a little plate for him to put all this belongings on when he walked in the door.
My search began at Winners – I found some *beautiful* tables that would have been perfect however the price was ridiculous ($100-$200).  I checked out Ikea and same deal.  I thought – who is going to pay that much money for a little table that’s not even made from real wood?!  After checking out some blogs and cruising through Pinterest – Sidebar BTW is anyone else addicted to Pinterest?!  I totally wish I could get paid for pinning!  🙂  I thought about popping into my local thrift store to see if there were any tables that I could pick up and revamp!  I pulled up to the curb of my local thrift store and sitting right in front of the store was my perfect table.

Oh the possibilities!

Now I know it might not look like much right now but I could see how beautiful I could make this!  I ran inside half dragging the table (because I didn’t want anyone else to take it – like it was the latest Michael Kors watch or something :)) and asked the cashier how much they were asking for it.  I was slowly calculating in my head what I would pay for it factoring in that it was second hand, but it was also wood.  I was bouncing somewhere between $20-$40 in my head when she spoke the magical words “does $7.99 work?”.  I almost jumped for joy and hugged the woman and hurried to get my cash out – “oh that’s tax included” she continues.  Can I just go ahead and tell you how amazing you are now?!  Thank you local thrift store worker!  So I dragged the table out to my car and called my husband and ecstatically told him about my find – surprisingly he wasn’t near as excited as I was 🙂 but I knew I’d change his mind!
I got home and started right away.  I sanded that baby down, put a coat of primer on and a coat of black.  While I was literally waiting for paint to dry, I went over to Home Depot and picked up a beautiful fake diamond knob (I think it was $4?).  Isn’t it beautiful!?

Love ❤

I was able to get away with one coat of paint – truthfully I probably could have done another coat but I was too excited to get the table in place.  I’ll take another pic with it in place once we have finished the work on the front entryway but here it is – isn’t it beautiful!?  Not bad for $12 eh?

Hello beautiful!

5 Responses to “DIY – Front Entrance Table”

  1. Meghan September 4, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Love it. We have 1 bedroom end table just like that – I found it in some thrift store in VT for a steal, but we don’t have a matching one… I guess you must have it!

    • creatingourdreamhouse September 4, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      Thank you so much! Sorry for taking the matching table 😉 It’s so funny that we both found them at thrift stores! Happy DIY!

      • Meghan September 5, 2012 at 7:25 am #

        I’ll have to pull up a picture of it and send you sometime! I painted it brown and put a new knob on it to match my dresser. Happy DIYing to u too 🙂

  2. Janet Wilcox September 4, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Wow what a buy!! Great job Ashley!!!

Leave a Reply

