Next reveal – blue bedroom becomes our guest room!

4 Sep

As I sit down to write this post, I have the Sausage & Spinach Pasta Bake cooking in the oven (it’s smelling really good!!) so you can expect a review post soon.   🙂

Back to the task at hand – I am very excited to show you our new “blue” room.  I have to break the news to you – we didn’t keep the lovely swirl clouds 😦  But I think it looks a wee bit better than the last time you saw it.  Here’s a quick run down of what we did:

  • Paint!  This was essential in this room… it took a couple of white coats on the ceiling to rid the blue skies and clouds.  The wall colour is the same in all three bedrooms and I already can’t wait to paint.  Hubby picked out the paint colour and wanted to paint all the rooms the same colour so we could just buy one large pail of paint but I am not a big fan at all!  It’s kind of an army green mixed with grey… keeping my eyes peeled for a sale on paint!
  • As you’ll know from the last post, the floor was a stick tile floor whereas the rest of the flooring throughout the house was hardwood.  I started in one corner and started peeling, worried about what I was going to find underneath.  What did I find you ask?  Another layer of stick tile…. And under that?!  HARDWOOD!  Booyah!  It took quite a while to peel the stick tile layers off and it’s not overly fun to sit on the floor while you’re doing this – you end up sticking to the floor.  It was funny though!!
  • We added new doors and ran new mouldings around the floors, window and doors.
  • I had a spare window covering so we put that up until I learn how to sew and put a new curtain up.  I bought a sewing machine off Kijiji for $30 – I can’t wait to start learning!
  • The long dresser in the room is from Ikea and it’s one we had in our master bedroom before we moved – I found it was too bulky in our master now and with the really large closet it wasn’t necessary!
  • Another fabulous Kijiji find was the bed frame and matching side table (it’s actually attached to the bed frame!) they were actually the matching set to the dresser and we got it for under $100 for both – neither the bed frame or the side table had a scratch on them!  Brand new we’d be looking at over $300 for both of them.  We had an extra mattress from family so that didn’t cost anything!
  • What am I missing?  I am still looking for a mirror to put over the dresser 🙂

Enough talking – here’s the reveal!  Just to remember what we came from….

The scary blue room!

And who could forget the beautiful clouds?

And where we are now!  Is it comfy enough that you’d want to stay over a night?!

Welcome!

Cute painting eh? We got it from my home town fair a couple of years ago from a local artist!

What do you think?!

3 Responses to “Next reveal – blue bedroom becomes our guest room!”

  1. Roxanne September 4, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Looks great, Ashley! Definitely a huge transformation. You should have your own show on HGTV for all of this!! 😉

    • creatingourdreamhouse September 4, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      Aww thank you! <3<3

      • Janet Wilcox September 10, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

        Ashley I can’t believe what you are creating. It is nothing short of amazing. That floor is beautiful and you are so lucky to find out hardwood was there. What do you think the chances are that I have hardwood under my ugly carpet? I am wanting to pull that carpet and put in laminent. Worries with so many animals that putting in hardwood would be an exercise in frustration.

Leave a Reply

